Lib Dems take control of Mole Valley

May 3, 2019 4:26 PM

MVDC elected LibDems 2019

The 11 successful Lib Dem candidates

In a stunning set of local election results for Mole Valley District Council, the Liberal Democrats gained 9 of the 14 seats being contested from the Conservatives. As a result they now hold 22 seats on the Council, giving them overall control of the Council. The Conservatives have 12 seats and the Independents have 7 seats.

For the Liberal Democrats, sitting Councillors Stephen Cooksey (Dorking South) and Claire Malcomson (Holmwoods) held their seats. They are joined by Couny Councillor Hazel Watson (Leith Hill) and three previous District Councillors: Caroline Salmon (Beare Green), David Preedy (Box Hill & Headley) and Paul Potter (Brockham, Betchworth & Buckland). The other seats were won by candidates who have not previously served as Councillors: Roger Adams (Bookham North), Nancy Goodacre (Bookham South), Lesley Bushnell (Capel, Leigh & Newdigate), Keira Vyvyan-Robinson (Leatherhead North) & Elsie Rosam (Mickleham, Westhumble & Pixham).

The number of votes cast for the Liberal Democrats was more than double the number cast for the Tories.

Click here for full results